Jamie Haggar


Jamie_Haggar
Jamie Haggar is another runner who seems to wake up every day a couple of steps faster than the day before. Jamie’s dedication has enabled him to continue his string of impressive PRs. Look for this trend to continue as Jamie can be found at nearly every running event or workout.

Name: Jamie Haggar
Age: 32
Hometown: I was born and raised in Denver, moved to Sioux City Iowa for high school, and then back to Colorado to attend Western State College.
Employment: Salesman for Coastal Copy. I sell copiers, printers, and document management software to local businesses.
Family: My lovely fiancé Teal in Santa Barbara and lots of great family in Denver and Iowa.
Other sports, hobbies, interests, etc.: Playing the drums, biking, swimming, juggling, hiking, skateboarding, snowboarding, surfing, golf etc. Anything outside!

Most Prized Possession: My bikes and my collection of juggling props.
Favorite Food: I like to eat a lot of candy! In an attempt to keep this Profile brief, I will list only a few of my favorites: Skittles, Nerds, Starbursts, Mambas, Jolly Ranchers, Lemonheads, Haribo Gummy Bears, Sour Patch Kids, Shock Tarts, Chewy Gobstoppers and Airheads.
Favorite Movie: Caddyshack
Favorite Spectator Sport: Golf. Nothing is better than lying on the couch on a Sunday afternoon and tuning into the PGA. You can fall asleep for hours and not miss a thing!
Car I’d Love to be Driving: Porsche 911 Targa 4S, 6 speed manual (in black please).

My friends describe me as: Nice guy? Carnie? I’ll have to ask them.
My trademark expression is: “Take it Easy”
If money were not a consideration, I would love to: Own a nice house. Ocean view or beachfront would be a great bonus.
In the next 5 years: I plan to start a family and continue a successful career here in Santa Barbara.
In the next 10 years: I hope to be having as much fun as I am today.
Personal accomplishments: I have completed RAGBRAI, the bike ride across Iowa 13 times. I worked with my friends at Jugglingstore.com to create an instructional Ball Juggling DVD. It is now the largest selling ball juggling DVD in the country! (However, I don’t think there is much competition in the instructional ball juggling arena). I am also happy to have run two marathons and completed a ½ Iron Man triathlon.
Personal fact that will surprise my friends: I spent the majority of my life as a full time skateboarder and snowboarder. When my old friends hear that I am a runner they can’t believe it!

Favorite Running Shoes: Nikes seem to be working for me at the moment.
Favorite Distance and PR (post collegiate): Definitely the marathon distance (2:55:10). I like the challenge of the race and love the training.
Best Race and Why: The San Diego Marathon in 2009 was my first marathon and my best race. I trained hard to break 3 hours, and I knew it was going to be tough. The most intense moment was passing the 3 hour pace group at around mile 15. It was a group of about 20 guys who looked very intimidating. I went by them and knew that if they caught up to me I would be toast. I didn’t look back and stuck to my game plan. I pulled off a 2:58:32 and felt an INCREDIBLE sense of achievement and happiness. I still get chills just thinking about it!
Worst Race and Why: SB Half Marathon 2009. I went into the race with a very tight calf and shin splint pains. I knew it was going to be tough when I was struggling through mile 1. I ended up gutting it out, but it was a terrible experience. My leg and hip locked up, and it took a couple of weeks to be able to walk normally again.
Average Weekly Mileage (last 12 months): 40
Favorite Local Race: Pier to Peak and the Fall XC race. My two best chances to beat Ricky Ho! (Watch out Ricky… Here I come.)
My most memorable running experience: Would definitely be the 10K race in Lake Okoboji, Iowa. I was about 10 years old, and I decided to run the race on a whim. The only shoes that I had at the lake that summer were a pair of slip on Airwalk skateboard shoes. I didn’t think too much about it and charged out for the run. About 2 miles into it I figured out that I was going to have a pretty serious blister problem. I made the decision to pop off my shoes and run the rest of the race in my socks and carry the shoes. I finished the race, and the crowd at the finish line got a big kick out of it. To this day I still get grief about it from my family. “Did you keep you shoes on this time?”
Favorite Place to Run: Mountain Drive and Elwood Shores
Glory Days PR: Excited to say that my glory days are still ahead of me. I am proud of my Marathon PR of 2:55:10 (Boston), and my 5K PR of 17:10 (Nite Moves), but I plan on running much faster times this year.

Realistic Running Goals for this Year: Sub 2:50 marathon, Sub 17:00 5K
Wildly Optimistic Running Goals for this year: Sub 2:45 marathon, Sub 16:00 5K
Lifetime Running Goals: Stay healthy and keep challenging myself. Keep Smiling!
Local Running Heroes & Why: So many local runners inspire me that it’s hard to narrow it down. Mike Swan, Rusty Snow, Mike Shalhoub, Ricky Ho, Kent Harris and Chrystee Bradley have been a big help and a big inspiration to me. Danny and Elda Rudd, Tamara Berndt, and Marie Schnyer have made me realize that anything is possible! Thanks guys!!
Personal Training Tips: Be consistent! Run hard on hard days, easy on easy days.
Why I Run: I love the way it makes me feel!

I love runners who: Give it 110%
I don’t care for runners who: Look at their GPS watch every 15 seconds (wait… do I do that?).
Suggestions for local races: I like them all!
Suggestions for SBAA: None

My views on life: You get out of it what you put into it. Live each day to its fullest!
Add Anything: I have never had a cavity!!
Favorite Quotes: “Life moves pretty fast. If you don’t stop and look around once in a while, you could miss it.” Ferris Bueller
SBAA Member since: 2008

Please follow and like us: